Trying Paleo for 30 Days – What?!

Yes world. I am trying to cook via Paleo for 30 DAYS. “Does this mean, you can’t eat PASTA?!”

Yes, I can’t eat pasta.

“Wait, what about…CHEEESE???!?!?!?”

I am forgoing eating that and all dairy as well – Yes, even cheese and yogurt.

My two best friends have gluten intolerances and it’s been a tough journey for them trying to figure out what works for their body and what doesn’t. I have been…a little over the top with regards to my unhealthy eating habits this summer, that I decided September 1st, I am going to try eating the Paleo Diet.

image

Though, it’s not considered a diet necessarily, it’s all about eating non-processed, whole food – meant, veggies, fruit. I’m using the Practical Paleo book from Diane Sanfilippo meal planning and recipes. I have half the month figured out and I need to plan the second month. But it’s been exciting and stressful.

I went meat shopping yesterday at Costco and got all the chicken breasts, thighs, ground turkey, and ground beef I have ever purchased in my life. I basically have taken over the apartments freezer. Today I bought the veggies and start the pre-cooking for tomorrow’s meals.

I made crustless quiche for breakfast and mustard glazed chicken thighs for lunch, which will include a mixed greens salad with cherry tomatoes, green onions, cucumbers, and balsamic vinaigrette. Pictures of what I made so far are below:

image
Top Left – Mustard Glaze; Top Right – Chicken thighs with glaze in the over; Middle Left – Done Chicken Thighs; Middle Right – Done Quiche; Bottom Left – Close up of Crustless Quiche; Bottom Right – Shredded Zucchini and Carrots.

It was quite easy to make actually. And I’m really excited to try them. And honestly, besides getting healthier, this forces me to be better about cooking. I love cooking. I miss cooking. I always talk about cooking. For goodness sakes this blog is about cooking! But these past few months I haven’t cooked much and it doesn’t feel right. Getting back in the kitchen will be good for me. And I’ve always wanted to cook more with meat, so I am real excited!

This journey in particular will be interesting – I hope to documents every day or every other day – we’ll see how it goes. Please keep reading though if you’re interested! I plan to be more proactive in my relatively decent blog writing. 🙂

 

Leave a comment